Crock Pot Mac & Cheese

From my Twitter:

Totally need to double the recipe the next time I make this mac & cheese. OMG nomz.

Here’s the pic, and the recipe!imageMac & Cheese is not very photogenic, esp. when I’m trying to take a pic of what it looked like in the pot. But this dish was amazing. The kids each had three servings and I had two.

The recipe, once again, came from Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook. But since I was able to find it already posted on the web, I’m re-posting below. Enjoy!

1 1/2 cups skim or low-fat milk
One 15-ounce can evaporated skim milk
1 large egg, beaten
1/4 teaspoon salt
Large pinch of freshly ground black pepper
1 1/2 cups shredded medium or sharp cheddar cheese, such as Oregon Tillamook, Vermont colby, or Wisconsin longhorn
8 ounces elbow macaroni (about 2 cups)
2 tablespoons freshly grated or shredded Parmesan cheese

1 Coat the slow cooker with cooking spray. Combine the low-fat and evaporated milks, egg, salt, and pepper in a separate bowl and whisk until smooth. Add the cheese and macaroni; gently stir with a rubber spatula to coat evenly with the milk and cheese mixture. Pour into the crock pot. Sprinkle the Parmesan on the top. (Edited – the original recipe said to mix everything in the crock pot. Don’t do that, it defeats the purpose of coating the pot with spray.)

2 Cover and cook on LOW until the custard is set in the center and the pasta is tender, 3 1/2 to 4 hours. Do not cook more than 4 hours, as the sides will dry out and burn.

Macaroni and Italian Cheese: For the cheddar, substitute a combination of 1 cup of shredded fontina (4ounces) and 1/2 cup of diced or shredded mozzarella (2 ounces).

Macaroni and Swiss Cheese: Substitute an equal amount of shredded Gruyere or Emmenthalar cheese for the cheddar.

Macaroni and Blue Cheese: Add 1/2 cup of crumbled Gorgonzola (2 ounces), Stilton, Roquefort, or American blue cheese to the cheddar and macaroni.

My notes: I went with regular old shredded sharp cheddar cheese from the grocery store. And I left out the salt, since cheese has a lot of salt anyways. Turned out great! The texture is definitely similar to what you get from a baked mac & cheese. The prep took me exactly 2 minutes, and that’s with W’s “help.” If I were to change anything, I think I’d stir about halfway through to redistribute the cheddar. But it was a definite crowd-pleaser as-is.

3 Responses to “Crock Pot Mac & Cheese”

  1. I made the recipe and it was quite tasty. But I think that my crock pot’s low setting either cooks faster or I accidentally put it on high because it was done in a little over 2 hours. Thankfully, I checked on it after an hour and 45 minutes so I could stir it and noticed that it was cooking faster. I added crumbled bacon on top as well as a few sprinkles of sriracha hot sauce. Yum!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

