Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Brown Butter

image

From my Twitter:

Italian genes breed true. Kids favorite meals this past week: gnocchi (one of W’s first 150 words) and polenta. Love it!

When I posted that, my Italian bro-in-law said I should try making my own gnocchi. “It’s easy,” he said.

Well, I couldn’t let that challenge pass, could I?

I also love sweet potato gnocchi and figured if I was going to make pasta, I’d make one of my favorite kinds. I found this recipe:
http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/sweet-potato-gnocchi/Detail.aspx

Of course, I had a couple technical difficulties.

1: I don’t have a ricer. So I whipped the potatoes with the stand mixer, then switched to the dough hook when I added the rest of the ingredients.

2: I thought it would be fun to let the kids roll the dough into “snakes” with me before I cut it into gnocchi. I am not sane. W tried to eat the dough, pulled little bits off and scattered them all over, ran over to hug Daddy covered head to toe in flour. KG thought the best part was coating her dough in the flour on the counter. But eventually we did get the dough rolled out and cut up.

I made a simple brown butter for the sauce, which I tossed with both the pasta and the broccoli. The sausage is chicken/turkey Italian from Wegmans.

Dinner was a huge hit – W had four servings of gnocchi and 1.5 sausages. Will definitely make again!

Leave a Reply

