Sneaky Chef: P B & J muffins; Hi-Fi Fish Sticks

I am very behind on updating this blog – my apologies! We have now made four different Sneaky Chef recipes, and here are reviews of two:

1) PB&J muffins

image

I used almond butter instead of peanut butter, as we haven’t introduced W (age 2) to peanuts yet. I also used what I thought was fairly thick jam (Polaner All Fruit), but as you can see, it still melted into the muffins quite a lot. I also made 12 muffins instead of the 8 the recipe called for, since that’s what’s in a normal muffin pan.  These were pretty darn yummy. KG loved making them – she helped stir, put the batter in the muffin pan, and put the jelly, too.

These muffins are (not surprisingly) super-filling. We had them for breakfast before church and no one complained about being hungry until lunch – a definite win in my book!

2) Hi-Fi Fish Sticks

image

I owe this meal to In the Kitchen with Audrey – I liked her idea so much I had to try it. I did, however, switch things around. I baked the fish and fried the hush puppies. The fish sticks were good – everyone really liked the breading, which contains ground almonds. The hush puppies, which I made with chopped spinach, were a huge hit.

The surprise win of the meal was the salad – the kids went nuts for baby spinach. KG thinks it’s basil, which she loves, and really likes that each leaf has a “handle.” We’ve had spinach several times since, and both kids still are enjoying it!

Leave a Reply

