Italian Wedding Soup

image

Last week was cold and rainy – so we made soup several times. This was our favorite – note the kids’ spinach in yet another dish!

I adapted this recipe from Slow Cooker Favorites Made Healthy. The recipe instructions were to make your own meatballs – I cheated and bought frozen turkey meatballs. I just threw the frozen meatballs in the bottom of the slow cooker, topped them with chopped fennel & onion, minced garlic, dried basil & oregano, and chicken broth. Then turned the cooker to low and left it for 10 hours. The orzo cooked for about 5 minutes at the end, and I put the fresh spinach in the bottom of everyone’s bowls before serving, so it wouldn’t overcook.

Delish! I don’t normally cook with fennel and I loved it in this soup. I sold it to the kids as “meatball soup” and they dug in. Made great leftovers, too.

Leave a Reply

