Recipe review: Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burritos with Lime from Kalyn’s Kitchen

image
Yet another Pinterest find! I love black beans and sweet potatoes, separately and together. They make an excellent combination, the flavors really work well together.

However, I had some trouble with these black bean and sweet potato burritos, none of which were the fault of the recipe.

For starters, the recipe says to cook the potato/bean mix on high, and I accidentally cooked it on low. Needless to say, when I came home, the potatoes weren’t even close to done. I managed to salvage dinner by dumping the crock pot contents into a casserole dish and baking it at 350 for about 25 minutes, but the resulting mix was a little dry.

I forged ahead and served it to the kids anyways, but they rejected it. I thought my burrito was great, and the lime was wonderful.

But I was left with most of a casserole dish full of beans and potatoes that no one else would eat 😦

Then, J had a brilliant idea yesterday… Make the leftovers into sliders! Surely the kids would go for that!
image
So tonight I took the remaining leftovers, ground them up in the food processer, and shaped them into slider patties. I heated the patties up, topped them with provolone, and placed them on toasted slider buns. The kids had theirs with ketchup and mustard; I had mine with salsa.

Sadly, the kids were not fooled by the burgers, and rejected this incarnation as well. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

