Recipe review: Italian sausage soup

image

I found this recipe for Italian sausage soup on my friend Eulalia’s blog. Like E, I  used pork sausage (my reason was b/c that’s what I could get without casings at the store and I only had a limited amount of time to make dinner). I also used plain diced tomatoes and added some garlic and oregano, so that I could use the no salt tomatoes. I didn’t really measure the spinach, I used most of a bag. We did use fresh basil – my transplanted herbs are doing pretty well inside! The parsley is actually doing better inside than out.

J and I thought the soup was awesome, although it was more of a stew (could have used more broth). The kids rejected the tomatoes and spinach, but thought the broth, pasta and sausage were good. Typical. We’ll still make it again – got to keep making the kids eat their veggies (and fruit). I’d probably double the recipe next time, this made just enough for the four of us.

Leave a Reply

